Honorary Members

Two prestigious scientists were proposed as new honorary members

Two prestigious scientists were proposed as new honorary members: John O’Keefe and Lynn Nadel. Their contribution to the field of cognitive neuroscience was considerable, in particular through the publication, in 1978, of their theory of the hippocampus as a cognitive map. Both were appointed unanimously and EBBS is proud to welcome them as honorary members.

John O’Keefe

John O'Keefe, FRS FMedSci (born November 18, 1939) is an American-British neuroscientist and a professor at the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour and the Research Department of Cell and Developmental Biology at University College London. He...

read more

Lynn Nadel

Lynn Nadel (born 12 November 1942) is the Regents' Professor of psychology at the University of Arizona. Nadel specializes in memory, and has investigated the role of the hippocampus in memory formation. Together with John O'Keefe, he coauthored the influential 1978...

read more