John O’Keefe

John O'Keefe John O'Keefe, FRS FMedSci (born November 18, 1939) is an American-British neuroscientist and a professor at the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour and the Research Department of Cell and Developmental Biology at University College London. He is known for his discovery of place cells in the hippocampus and [...]

Lynn Nadel

Lynn Nadel Lynn Nadel (born 12 November 1942) is the Regents' Professor of psychology at the University of Arizona. Nadel specializes in memory, and has investigated the role of the hippocampus in memory formation. Together with John O'Keefe, he coauthored the influential 1978 book The Hippocampus as a Cognitive Map,[1] which defended the [...]

Two prestigious scientists were proposed as new honorary members

Two prestigious scientists were proposed as new honorary members: John O'Keefe and Lynn Nadel. Their contribution to the field of cognitive neuroscience was considerable, in particular through the publication, in 1978, of their theory of the hippocampus as a cognitive map. Both were appointed unanimously and EBBS is proud to welcome them as honorary members.

Johannes Gräff

Johannes Gräff Johannes Gräff is a tenure-track assistant professor at the Brain Mind Institute at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland. His main areas of research are the molecular underpinnings of cognitive decline in neurodegeneration, as well as the cellular and molecular mechanisms of long-lasting traumatic memories. His lab uses state-of-the-art [...]

Androniki Raftogianni

Androniki Raftogianni Androniki Raftogianni was born in Giannitsa, Greece in 1983.She obtained her PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Athens, Greece, in March 2013. She has been a postdoctoral research scientist in Max Planck Institute for Medical Research and in Schaller Research Group on Neuropeptides at German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), since [...]

Betsy Murray

Betsy Murray Dr. Betsy Murray heads the Laboratory of Neuropsychology in the National Institute of Mental Health, NIH, located in Bethesda, MD, USA. Dr. Murray’s group investigates the neural bases of reward-based learning and decision making, with a focus on frontal cortex contributions. This work examines the neural circuits critical for affective processing [...]

Ewelina Knapska

Ewelina Knapska Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology Warsaw, Poland My research activities are focused on the functional anatomy of neuronal circuits underlying emotions. In particular, I am interested in neural mechanisms of socially transferred emotions of positive and negative valence. In my group we investigate neural representations of emotional states of interacting animals focusing [...]

Shira Knafo

Shira Knafo Molecular Cognition Laboratory Basque Country University Leioa, Spain I am particularly interested in the molecular and cellular basis of diverse cognitive conditions. Specifically, our goal is to identify molecular and synaptic mechanisms underlying learning and memory processes, cognitive malfunction and cognitive enhancement. The elucidation of these mechanisms facilitates the nomination of new [...]

Etienne Coutureau

Etienne Coutureau Institut de Neurosciences Cognitives et Intégratives d'Aquitaine (INCIA) UMR 5287 CNRS/Université de Bordeaux Bordeaux, France My research studies basic cognitive representations and operations which allow animals to adapt their actions according to their predicted consequences. My approach stands at the interface of cognitive and experimental psychology, integrative and developmental neuroscience.

Harm J. Krugers, Treasurer

Harm Krugers Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences University of Amsterdam The Netherlands The primary goal of our lab is to understand how early life experiences regulate (emotional) memory formation later in life. Major research lines in the lab are i) hormonal regulation of synaptic function and memory formation and ii) early life experience as [...]